To comply with best practice, as to data management, and to ensure that the research data uploaded to the Data Archive is always recoverable/retrievable, it is recommended that you do not remove/delete local copies of the research data you have uploaded to the Data Archive until two weeks after initial upload to ensure a copy of the data stored in the Data Archive has also gone offsite (in tape format).

To confirm that the data you have uploaded have been committed (copied) to tape:

  • Click on any file (in the third pane of Asset Finder) and, in the fourth pane, scroll down to Content:, Status:
  • A Status of OFFLINE or ONLINE_AND_OFFLINE indicates that the data has been copied onto tape.

Note: data in the archive can be expected to be copied onto tape within 24 hours of upload and tapes are physically taken off-site weekly.

 

Help and further information:

  • To learn more about the Data Archive:
  • To access the Data Archive Web application, use this link, or, go to the Home page for other access options
  • To create, or update, a Research Data Management Plan go to the ResData service
  • Note: the Data Archive service is also available over SFTP, see the SFTP client guide for more information